Wk 2 Art Experience – Landscapes with a Corpse

death-1

death-3

death-2

This week was definitely an introspective one for many reasons. I was feeling stressed out about all that I had to do for my classes and I was not really in the best state of mind. Maybe not the best time to start planning my own death. With that said though, this assignment actually turned out to be pretty fun.

As you can see, I chose to go to the beach for my death. We decided to do it at Newport Beach and honestly it would be a pretty nice place to go in my opinion. My boyfriend took the pictures and he is actually a photographer so he did not mind at all and was actually excited about this assignment. I am usually pretty awkward with posing for pictures, but this felt okay because it was not supposed to look “natural”. Originally I wanted to actually go into the water or at least have my hair wet to make it look like I had drowned, but the weather really did not call for that and I did not want to freeze to death in the pursuit of my fake death photo.

I like how the photos came out and I know I look pale (I am in real life too) but my boyfriend edited them a little bit to make me look even more dead.  I definitely made sure to thank him because as we were in public we both looked really strange just up there on the breakwater having a death photo shoot. I also like how I sort of blend into the rocks in my first photo, it makes it seem like I fit in with the scenery so that the death is not as shocking or apparent. The fisherman in the background is a nice touch that I didn’t even notice until looking at the photos later. It just shows that even though I am dead it doesn’t mean that everyone else’s life with stop. After we got up and started walking back to the sand, fog started to roll in very quickly and everything looked so eerie. It was interesting that it happened right after we decided to quit for the day.

Overall, I really enjoyed this experience and mimicking the art of Izima Kaoru. I am definitely no model, and definitely not one that wears Versace, but it was fun to pretend to be dead, I guess you could say.

Photos shot on a Nikon d600 by Jordan Van Loy @jordanvanloy

One thought on “Wk 2 Art Experience – Landscapes with a Corpse

Leave a Reply

