Wk 6 Artist Conversation – Ariel Maldonado

screenshot

Exhibition: Talk to Strangers

Ariel Maldonado

Ceramics

Approximately 6x10x7

CSULB School of Art, Gatov Gallery East

 

The light from within.

There is a light inside me that will never go out. When you have chronic depression it feels like you are constantly running on empty, never having enough energy to complete what you need to do in the day. I have been running from my own exhaustion for what feels like years. I am never fully pleasing anyone and never living up to what other people expect of me. All I want to do is be a good daughter, sister, girlfriend, friend, worker and student, but all of those roles are so hard to achieve simultaneously.

Even so, there is a light inside me. This light lets me know that everything will be okay in the end. That even though I feel the weight of the world on my shoulders, that eventually, today’s worries won’t matter anymore. That bad grade will not be stamped on my forehead. My loved ones will forgive me. I will have time to clean my room eventually. It is okay if I take a day off once in awhile.

My head has been full of nothing but stress and worry. I still feel the weight of it all shifting around, causing me to be sick. My body is physically telling me what my mental state has been for the longest time. I need to take some time and really breathe, and know that I will be okay eventually. The light inside gives me comfort and lets me know that no matter what happens today, the sun will still rise tomorrow.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

