Wk 12 Art Experience – Ethnography

This week’s assignment was to live one night without lights or electricity. It came just in time for Earth Day, and this experience along with the art talk this week really made me think of my own personal environmental impact. While I think that it is almost a ridiculous thought to live without electricity, I have to consider that this is a reality for less developed countries. We are so used to our excessive consumption that an assignment like this becomes extremely difficult. I’ll admit that I cheated a little on this one. While I didn’t use any electricity out of my own accord, I went out to places that did use electricity.

I decided to do the assignment on Saturday, which was pretty much the only day I felt like having no electricity wouldn’t hinder me. During the day I went to Laguna Beach and spent a lot of time there. We stayed until the sunset, which was amazing. We ended up driving there and back (not too environmentally friendly). Later, I ate dinner out at a restaurant by my house. After that, I went home and that’s when I started limiting my own electricity use. I made sure to unplug everything and not use my cell phone, which was honestly the hardest part. As I live with other people, I can’t really turn off every light in the house entirely. So, I ended up mostly staying in my room and reading by the light of a few candles. I would definitely not do this again, but at least it helped me go to bed early since I wasn’t staring at my bright phone screen all night long. If I got anything from this assignment it would be that I need to limit my phone use before bed because it really improved my sleep.

While I think it would be nice to live without constant FOMO, and living by my phone screen, I do think that living without electricity is just not practical. First off, I had to light a candle to even use the bathroom, so that was not fun. Life would be a lot more boring and while people now do feel the need to constantly be stimulated by information, I would say that this isn’t necessarily a bad thing as long as you can limit yourself.

FullSizeRender 11

This beach is where I was when the sun went down (although these pictures was taken on a different day, I love Laguna)

FullSizeRender 12

Leave a Reply

